Shipwrecked Angel

How to shift your reality now

What does it mean to live in the question?

on April 23, 2012

What does it mean to live in the question?

Portrait on Canvas

Portrait on Canvas (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Years ago, I fell in love with the movieA Room with a View.  This was one of those Ivory Merchant period productions, so popular in the 80s, and especially popular with me.  Starring Helena Bonham-Carter and Maggie Smith, the movie followed a young English woman’s journey as she came of age in Florence.  The scenery was beautiful, of course, and when I eventually made a trip to Florence with my ex-fiancee in 1995, I expected to find the view they talked about in that particular movie.

 Did I find that view?  No, I did not. 

 Silly, I know.  I was doomed for disappointment.   How can real life emulate an art form, which by its very nature attempted to emulate life?   In other words, I was looking for a copy of a copy of a copy, which had also passed its sell-by date.  The movie was set in 1908.

 But I do remember the question.  There was a wonderful scene in the movie about living the question, which I took to mean being open to life.

 I realize as part of my 30-day challenge, to shift my reality, that I like to figure things out in advance, I need to figure out things in advance, and I want to figure things out in advance.  But…

 How much space does that leave for the magic of the Universe?

 Not very much.

 So this is the challenge to myself as I head into the final week of these 30 days.  Allow myself to live the magic of possibility.  Turn off the thinker and be open to receive from the Universe.

 As I live the question, who knows what doors will open that couldn’t be opened before?

A Room with a View, E.M. Forster, (1908)

6 responses to “What does it mean to live in the question?

  1. Carol Andrew says:

    Go for the Magic!

  2. Brenda says:

    O.K! what fun….
    Thinking ????? is that possible ?
    ……What if we could feel, be and create, the magic?
    Can’t wait!

  3. Davidya says:

    Fab movie! I’m not a fan of much opera but… I’m listening to O Mio Bambino now. Thanks for the reminder.
    A question implies thought. Perhaps an expression of an unanswered thought. Some speak of living the mystery. Or of following the intuition. Surrendering to life as it is.

    On the other hand, today is the day of “lasting achievements” in the Vedic calendar. This year, both sun and moon are at their highest points of exaltation at the same time making it the most potent in a couple of dozen years. So its a wonderful day to begin projects. (laughs)

  4. Susan Ebling says:

    I love, love, LOVE that movie and any Merchant Ivory flick I can think of…I also love “Enchanted April”, “Under A Tuscan Sun” & “Sense & Sensibility” with Emma Thompson & Kate Winslet. The version of “O Mio Bambino” in the movie is the best one I’ve ever heard and is very, very hard to find. I’ve been to Florence too, looking for that view and I didn’t find it either…lol…In fact I had one the the worst views of all time there – No window at all! But I did a pilgrimage to Northern Ireland in search of the views in the movie Excalibur and I DID find them! Bluebells and waterfalls a plenty…so sometimes you can find art and reality in the same places…In my experience it takes tremendous strength and discipline to “Live with a Question” and the time and energy you lavish on it IS the magic of the Universe instead of using our monkey brains who can not stand an empty space and have to fill it with any old rubbish to avoid having one. C.S. Lewis who wrote the “Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe was a famous Christian philosopher as well as a fiction writer and you would think that some one who could write those wonderful children’s books would not have written in his Christian Trestles that “Animals do not feel pain because they have no souls”. You see it is a very seductive trap, the need to fill an empty place in our beliefs and understandings. So I say again, Living with the Question IS the Magic!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 280 other followers

